T: 514 522 9339 / admin@univins.ca
1350, Mazurette Street, Bureau 326, Montréal, QC, H4N 1H2

Boekenhoutskloof Stellenbosch Cabernet Sauvignon

Terroir

Stellenbosch Cabernet Sauvignon is containing 14% Cabernet Franc ; it was selected from various sites on the north-westerly facing slopes of the Helderberg mountain range. Soil: Combination of sites consisting of decomposed granite, Table Mountain sandstone and “koffieklip” (ferricrete).

Vinification

The grapes underwent a cold maceration in stainless steel fermentation vessels and then fermented at temperatures between 27° and 30° with frequent pump-overs and occasional delestage to extract aromas, colour and tannins. After alcoholic fermentation, a prolonged malolactic fermentation occurred naturally in 225 litre barriques. The wine was matured for 20 months in 60% new French oak barrique.

Features

A refined, complex nose offers aromas of cassis, dark berry fruit, pencil shavings and whiffs of spicy tobacco. Fine-grained powdery tannins are juxtaposed against both black and red berry fruit, hints of thyme and graphite and a vibrant acidity on the midpalate. The wine is lithe and multi-layered with exceptional balance, showing fine texture and a youthful elegance, suggesting significant ageing potential. Red berry fruit persists on the finish with notes of garrigue and fennel seeds.

Other information

RS: 2.7g/l -TA: 5.6g/l -pH: 3.68

Press review

2014 – 92 pts Wine Spectator

Details

Producer

Boekenhoutskloof

Category

Red

Grapes

86 % Cabernet sauvignon
14% Cabernet franc

Size

750 ml

Degree of alcohol

14, 71 %

Available in these provinces

  • Quebec
  • British Columbia
  • Alberta

Discover

T: 514 522 9339 / admin@univins.ca
1350, rue Mazurette, Bureau 326, Montréal, QC, H4N 1H2

Boekenhoutskloof Stellenbosch Cabernet Sauvignon

Terroir

Stellenbosch Cabernet Sauvignon contient 14% de cabernet franc; il a été sélectionné parmi divers sites situés sur les versants nord-ouest de la chaîne de montagnes Helderberg. Sol : Combinaison de sites constitués de granit décomposé, de grès de la « Table Mountain », un massif qui surplombe la ville du Cap, et de « Koffieklip » (ferricrete).

Vinification et vieillissement

Les raisins ont subi une macération à froid dans des cuves de fermentation en acier inoxydable, puis ont été fermentés à des températures comprises entre 27 ° et 30 °C avec des remontages fréquents et des délestages occasionnels pour en extraire les arômes, la couleur et les tanins. Après la fermentation alcoolique, une fermentation malolactique prolongée se produit naturellement dans des barriques de 225 litres. Le vin a été élevé pendant 20 mois dans 60% de barriques de chêne français neuves.

Caractéristiques

Un nez raffiné et complexe offre des arômes de cassis, de baies noires, de copeaux de crayon et de bouffées de tabac épicé. Les tanins poudrés à grain fin sont juxtaposés contre des fruits noirs et rouges, des notes de thym et de graphite et une acidité vibrante au palais. Le vin est souple et comporte plusieurs couches avec un équilibre exceptionnel, une texture fine et une jeune élégance, suggérant un potentiel de vieillissement significatif. Les fruits rouges persistent en finale avec des notes de garrigue et de graines de fenouil.

Autres informations

RS: 2.7g/lTA: 5.6g/lpH: 3.68

Press review

2014 – 92 pts Wine Spectator

Détails

Producteur

Boekenhoutskloof

Catégorie

Vins Rouges

Cépages

86 % Cabernet sauvignon
14% Cabernet franc

Pays / région

Afrique du Sud, Stellenbosch

Format

750 ml

Degré d'alcool

14, 71 %

Disponible dans ces provinces

  • Québec
  • Colombie-Britannique
  • Alberta

À découvrir