T: 514 522 9339 / admin@univins.ca
1350, Mazurette Street, Bureau 326, Montréal, QC, H4N 1H2

Original Raats Chenin Blanc

Terroir

Produced from vineyards with an average age of 35 years. Vines are grown in both decomposed granite and Table Mountain sandstone soils. Combination of trellised and bush vines, irrigated as well as dry land.

Vinification

Grapes are picked in three sessions from mid-January to mid-February to enhance flavour diversity. Grapes grown from the two soil types are fermented separately, the decomposed granite bringing a lime and mineral character, while the sandstone more tropical fruit and structure. The juice was cold settled for 2 to 3 days, then cold fermented (14 - 16 °C) in stainless steel tanks and aged on the lees for 6 months before bottling. No wood ageing.

Features

The wine has a distinctive yellow apple and pineapple core, alongside notes of green melon and limes. The wine is thus bursting with fresh fruit flavours. The wine ends with zesty citrus flavours, and has a long mineral finish. The Raats Original Chenin Blanc is a classic example of a Chenin Blanc made from older vines, grown in very specific soil types.

Food Pairings

An easy-to-pair wine since it has a wide flavour profile, but we especially recommend it with curry or similar spicy dishes as well as sushi and oysters.

Details

Producer

Raats Family Wines

Category

White

Grapes

100 % Chenin Blanc

Country / Region

South Africa, Western Cape

Appellation

Coastal Region (WO)

Size

750 ml

Degree of alcohol

12,5 %

Serving temperature

10 to 12 °C

Available in these provinces

  • Quebec

Discover

T: 514 522 9339 / admin@univins.ca
1350, rue Mazurette, Bureau 326, Montréal, QC, H4N 1H2

Original Raats Chenin Blanc

2016

Terroir

Les raisins sont issus de vignobles âgés de 35 ans en moyenne. Les vignes sont autant plantées en palissage qu’en buisson, sur des sols bien irrigués autant que des sols secs et sur des sols de granite autant que des sols sablonneux de la région de Table Mountain.

Vinification et vieillissement

Les raisins sont cueillis à la main de la mi-janvier à la mi-février afin de rehausser la diversité des saveurs. Les raisins issus des deux types de sols différents (granite et sablonneux) sont fermentés séparément. Les raisins issus du sol granitique apportent le caractère agrumes et minéral tandis que les sols sablonneux apportent la note de fruits tropicaux et la structure. Après un débourbage à froid, le jus est fermenté à froid (température contrôlée de 14º - 16ºC) dans des cuves en inox. Le vieillissement sur lies dure 6 mois. Le vin ne vieilli pas en fût de bois.

Caractéristiques

Le vin a un nez distinctif de pomme jaune et d’ananas auquel s’ajoute des notes de melon vert de de lime. En bouche, il explose de saveurs de fruits frais. La bouche se termine sur des saveurs d’agrume et une finale très minérale. Le Raats Original Chenin Blanc est un exemple classique de Chenin Blanc fait à partir de vieilles vignes plantées dans des terroirs très spécifiques.

Accords mets et vins

Vin facile à accorder grâce à son large éventail de saveurs. Nous le recommandons avec un curry ou d’autres plats épicés similaires. Se marie aussi très bien avec des sushis et des huîtres.

Autres informations

Vieillissement: 2 – 4 ans (se boit exceptionnellement bien dès maintenant)

Press review

Mill. 2016 – 5 stars John Platter (2018).Mill. 2016 – 91 Points – Wine Spectator (Feb 2017).Mill. 2016 – 91 points – Wine Spectator (November 2016).Mill. 2015 – 91 points – Decanter UK (November 2016).Mill. 2015 – 4 stars John Platter (2017).Mill. 2015 – 90 points – Wine Spectator (November 2016).Mill. 2015 – 90 points – the Wine Enthusiast (March 2017).Mill. 2014 – 88 points – Wine Spectator (April 2016).Mill. 2014 – 92 points – Neal Martin from The Wine Advocate (December 2015). Mill. 2014 – 89 points – Stephen Tanzer (June 2015). Mill. 2014 – 91-93 points – Neal Martin from The Wine Advocate (October 2014).

Détails

Producteur

Raats Family Wines

Catégorie

Cépages

100 % Chenin Blanc

Pays / région

Afrique du Sud

Appellation

Coastal Region (WO)

Format

750 ml

Degré d'alcool

12,5 % / vol.

Température de service

10-12°C