T: 514 522 9339 / admin@univins.ca
1350, Mazurette Street, Bureau 326, Montréal, QC, H4N 1H2

The Chocolate Block

Terroir

The wine is produced in Franschhoek in the Paarl region by winemaker Marc Kent. The Syrah comes from Malmesbury, a unique terroir that enjoys excellent growing conditions. The deeply rooted vines produce optimal concentrations for the appearance, flavour and tannic structure. The Grenache Noir comes from the country’s oldest vines, which are located in Citrusdal, whose sandy soil makes it a perfect terroir for the grape variety. The Cabernet Sauvignon and Viognier from Boekenhoutskloof are organically farmed while the Cinsault comes from old bush vines grown in decomposed granite soils in Welbedacht in Wellington.

Vinification

The Grenache was matured in 600-litre barrels to retain the unmistakable fruit and freshness of the cultivar. The wine matured in second- and third-fill French oak barrels for 18 months before undergoing a light egg-white fining.

Features

The nose is expressive, with scents of black cherry, spicy raspberry, black fruit and violets. As the wine breathes, you’ll discover a rustic leather and earth dimension. In the mouth, the wine is well structured with elegant, supple tannins. Spicy oak aromas cover a rounded mid-palate. In short, a classically styled wine whose beautifully integrated tannins and fine acidity give it a deliciously sustained finish. Its ageing potential is eight years.

Food Pairings

Perfect with filet mignon, game, lamb and all kinds of grilled meat.

Other information

2012 - 90 pts Robert Parker

Details

Producer

Boekenhoutskloof

Category

Red

Grapes

79 % Syrah, 13 % Cabernet Sauvignon, 11 % Grenache Noir, 3 % Cinsault, 1 % Viognier

Country / Region

South Africa, Western Cape

Appellation

Western Cape (WO)

Size

750 ml

Degree of alcohol

14.5 %

Serving temperature

16 °C

Available in these provinces

  • Quebec
  • Ontario

Discover

T: 514 522 9339 / admin@univins.ca
1350, rue Mazurette, Bureau 326, Montréal, QC, H4N 1H2

The Chocolate Block

Terroir

Ce vin est produit à Franschhoek, dans la région de Paarl, par le viticulteur Marc Kent. La syrah provient de Malmesbury, un terroir unique avantagé par des conditions de culture privilégiées, alors que les vignes s’enracinent profondément dans le sol et produisent des concentrations optimales sur la robe, pour la saveur et la structure tannique. Le grenache noir, les plus vieilles vignes du pays, provient de Citrusdal, qui est composé de sols sablonneux, un terroir parfait pour la culture de ce cépage. Le cabernet-sauvignon et le viognier de Boekenhoutskloof sont cultivés biologiquement et le cinsault provient de vieilles vignes de Welbedacht, à Wellington, dans des sols de granite décomposés.

Vinification et vieillissement

Le lot particulier de grenache a vieilli dans des barils de 600 litres afin de préserver le fruit et la fraîcheur propre à ce cépage. Le vin a vieilli pendant 18 mois dans des barils de chêne français remplis pour la deuxième et troisième fois et cela, avant d’être filtré au blanc d’œuf.

Caractéristiques

Le nez est expressif avec un parfum de cerises noires, de framboises épicées, de petits fruits noirs et de violette. Avec le temps vous découvrirez une dimension rustique de cuir et de terre. La bouche est bien structurée avec des tanins élégants et souples, aux arômes de chêne épicés bien arrondis en mi-bouche. Voici un vin au style classique avec de beaux tanins intégrés et d’une belle acidité qui lui donne une belle longueur. Son potentiel de garde est de huit ans.

Accords mets et vins

Idéal avec un filet mignon, des gibiers, de l’agneau et des viandes grillées.

Détails

Producteur

Boekenhoutskloof

Catégorie

Vins Rouges

Cépages

79 % Syrah, 13 % Cabernet Sauvignon, 11 % Grenache Noir, 3 % Cinsault, 1 % Viognier

Pays / région

Afrique du Sud, Western Cape

Appellation

Western Cape (WO)

Format

750 ml

Degré d'alcool

14,5 %

Température de service

16°C

Disponible dans ces provinces

  • Québec
  • Ontario

À découvrir