THE ART OF WINE

Italie

Donnafugata

The name Donnafugata, literally ‘woman in flight’ refers to the history of Queen Maria Carolina, wife of Ferdinand IV of Bourbon, who fled Naples in the early 1800s on the arrival of Napoleon’s troops, seeking refuge in the part of Sicily where the winery’s vineyards now stand. This event inspired the Donnafugata logo, the effigy of a woman’s head with windblown hair found on every bottle.

Donnafugata seeks excellence in premium wine by taking painstaking care over detail: in its vineyards, in its wine cellars, in its relationship with the environment.  Extreme Quality is the entrepreneurial style which reflects the company philosophy

Donnafugata believes that great wine reflects the land of its origin. Nature of the soil, exposure, altitude, climate and vines are the principle variables for producing wines which express their belonging to unique terroirs.

L'ART DU VIN

Italie

Donnafugata

Le nom Donnafugata signifie «femme en fugue», rappelant l’histoire de la Reine Maria Carolina, épouse de Ferdinand IV de Bourbon, qui a fui Naples au début des années 1800 pour trouver refuge sur les terres de la Sicile où sont maintenant les vignobles. Ce chapitre de l’histoire a inspiré le logo de Donnafugata qui représente une femme, les cheveux au vent. 

Donnafugata  atteint la note d’excellence dans son vin grâce aux soins particuliers portés dans ses vignobles, dans ses caves à vin, ou encore dans sa relation avec l’environnement.  La philosophie qui reflète le style de gestion de cette compagnie est l’atteinte d’une qualité exceptionnelle.

Donnafugata croit qu’un excellent vin témoigne de la terre de ses origines. La nature du sol, l’exposition solaire, l’altitude, le climat et les vignes sont les principaux éléments dans la production des vins qui les identifieront  à leur terroir d’origine.