The Clos des Capucins, a historic soil, extends over 5 hectares, protected by the surrounding walls of the former Capuchin monastery. The latter is quoted as soon as 890, the year when the empress Richarde gave it to the Abbey of Etival, which left a part of the soil to the Capuchin monks.

Domaine Weinbach

The Clos des Capucins, a historic soil, extends over 5 hectares, protected by the surrounding walls of the former Capuchin monastery. The latter is quoted as soon as 890, the year when the empress Richarde gave it to the Abbey of Etival, which left a part of the soil to the Capuchin monks.

At the foot of the majestic Schlossberg hill, you’ll find the Domaine Weinbach surrounded by vines and roses. Named after the ” wine brook “, the little stream that meanders through the estate, Domaine Weinbach was established in 1612 by Capuchin monks.

During the French Revolution, the Domaine was sold as a national property. It was acquired in 1898 by the Faller brothers who left it to their son and nephew Théo.

Théo Faller, a prominent figure in Alsace winegrowing, strove to improve the quality of Alsace wines. As a fervent advocate of the region’s recognition as an Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée, he continuously promoted its incomparable terroirs and grape varieties. Théo was devoted to Domaine Weinbach. He developed, expanded and enhanced it.

Since his death in 1979, his wife Colette and daughters, have carried on Théo’s passion for the great wines of Alsace and his unrelenting commitment to delivering excellence

Terroir historique, le Clos des Capucins s'étend sur 5 hectares, protégés par les murs d'enceinte de l'ancien couvent des Capucins. Il est cité dès 890, année où l'impératrice Richarde en fit don à l'Abbaye d'Etival, qui à son tour en détacha une partie au profit des moines Capucins.

France

Domaine Weinbach

Terroir historique, le Clos des Capucins s’étend sur 5 hectares, protégés par les murs d’enceinte de l’ancien couvent des Capucins. Il est cité dès 890, année où l’impératrice Richarde en fit don à l’Abbaye d’Etival, qui à son tour en détacha une partie au profit des moines Capucins. 

Au pied de la majestueuse colline du Schlossberg, dans un écrin de vignes et de roses, le Domaine Weinbach « ruisseau du vin », du nom du petit cours d’eau qui le traverse, fut édifié en 1612 par les moines Capucins.

Vendu comme bien national à la Révolution Française, le Domaine est acquis en 1898 par les frères Faller qui le transmettent à leur fils et neveu Théo.

Grande figure du vignoble alsacien et ardent promoteur de sa reconnaissance en Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée, Théo Falleroeuvre pour la qualité des vins d’Alsace et la mise en valeur de leurs incomparables terroirs et cépages. Amoureux de sa propriété, il la développe, l’agrandit et l’embellit.

Depuis 1979, son épouse Colette et ses filles Catherine et Laurence, font preuve de la même passion pour les grands vins d’Alsace et du même attachement sans faille à la qualité.